The three-member team from Kathmandu School of Law (KSL) was invincible at the 12th South Asia Rounds of the Henry Dunant Memorial Moot Competition 2016 organised by the ICRC from 16-18 December 2016 in Nepal. Tarbiat Modares University, Iran stood a close second even as KSL used ‘home advantage’ to their benefit and emerged first-time winners of the regional rounds.

The winning team comprised Kundan Raj Sharma, Prapoosa K C and Sameep Khanal. The team from Tarbiat Modares University included Maryam Kandi Dayeni, Faraz Dezfouli Ast and Navi Mollaee.

Eight teams from five countries — India, Iran, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka — participated at the region-level this year. In what was a neck and neck contest from the very beginning, the teams from Sri Lanka and Pakistan got eliminated after the preliminary rounds while both the participating teams from Iran secured a spot in the semi-finals, along with India and Nepal.

The top four teams which qualified for the IHL Red Cross Moot Competition to be held in Hong Kong in March 2017 include Kathmandu School of Law, Nepal; Tarbiat Modares University, Iran; School of International Relations, Iran; and National Law School of India University (NLSIU), India.

While NLSIU India was awarded the best memorial prize, the award for best researcher went to Morteza Naderi from School of International Relations, Iran. Prapoosa K.C. from KSL, Nepal and Madhavi Singh from NLSIU, India jointly won the award for best advocate.